The past and future of Portuguese wine

Portugal has so many traditions and ways of doing things. Check this out!

Salt of Portugal

AmphorasCrato

The Flor da Rosa Pousada in Crato has a beautiful collection of “talhas” (clay amphoras) made by potters in Alentejo.  The small amphoras were used to store olives or olive oil. The large ones were used to produce wine, a tradition that goes back to Roman times.

Several Portuguese wine makers are rediscovering the lost art of producing wine in amphoras. One of them is Dirk Niepoort, a great producer from the Douro region. We can’t wait to try these wines which bring the past into the future!

Click here for the Pousadas’ website and here for more photos of Flor da Rosa.

View original post

14 thoughts on “The past and future of Portuguese wine

  1. in order to be able to make a semi-intelligent comment, or as close to that as I my feeble IQ is able to muster, I googled up Portuguese Wines. Wow. I sat here for 45 minutes reading about the various quality wines and a history that predates France’s by 200 years. Way cool.

    Like

  2. Hi, Susan. I have been looking for you for years and just stumbled across your wonderful blog. Do you remember me? I used to be Kathy Shuster but now I’m Kathy Specht. I would love to be able to talk with you about old times and catch up on all the time we’ve missed.

    Like

    1. Oh! KATHY! I actually looked you up a long time ago and then life happened. I could never forget you. You, Gloria and Carolyn were my “besties” at Harding. (lost them. too).
      I am so glad you found me on my blog! We moved so much when I was growing up that I have a trail of lost friends. I only have a cell phone and only have unlimited minutes on weekends. Can we work with that? It means SO much to me that you wanted to look me up. You can email me at price.susan@gmail.com

      Like

Comments are closed.