The Portugal Adventure – The Long Year

Long-Year--8026After the Portugal Summer

The suitcases from my  trip were unpacked; the clothes washed and put away, and it was time to think about my incoming fourth grade class at the Christian school where I taught. I spent about a week in my classroom organizing and planning. This class was smaller than the previous year’s group. I was soon to learn, though, that what this crowd lacked in numbers, more than a few of them made up for it in misdirected energy. It was the only class that never got a field study trip. There were just some in the class I could not trust to follow instructions.

Old Business

One afternoon I was on the way to my car when a former boyfriend accosted me in the church parking lot. We had dated  when I was in college, but we broke up after a year or so. About a month before I left for Portugal, he asked me if we could hang out sometimes, just as friends. He had, he said, no expectations beyond that. So we had spent a day at Hershey Park before I flew over the ocean. I had not really announced to anyone what I was doing over the summer. I believe I mentioned to him I was going to visit Harry in Portugal.  This encounter, though, he wanted me to consider seeing him with the goal of eventually getting married. Yikes!  There really is no easy way to let someone down gently in a situation like that, though I tried my best. I told him about my trip, and that Harry had asked me to marry him. I showed him my ring. And I am drawing a curtain of charity over the rest of this scene.

The Parents

My mom and dad were still flummoxed by the phone call from Harry when he asked for my dad’s permission to marry me. Mom reacted the way she always did. She bottled it all up inside and said little. Dad was kind of quiet, too. Whenever I crossed through the living room, he was sitting in his recliner in the corner throwing sad puppy eyes at me. I don’t think it ever occurred to them that I would move six time zones away when I got married. I guess they forgot when I was considering going to Bangladesh to teach.

Harry’s family didn’t even know that I had gone to Portugal until I flew home. Harry eventually called them and let them know. They invited me to come visit, and I gladly went to see them. They were still kind of upset that I hadn’t said anything before I left. I had actually tried in my introverted way to start up a conversation with one of the family members before I went, but was misunderstood. Of course, they were sad that they had missed an opportunity to send something to him in my luggage. It never crossed my mind that they’d do that or I might have been more assertive in my approach. I would have been glad to do that for them. The first visit felt a bit awkward to me, but my father-in-law to be broke the ice by telling me I had no idea what I was getting into. (He was right.) …to be continued.              love portugal

(If you missed any of the Portugal posts, and want to follow along, you will find them under the topic, Portugal.)

4 thoughts on “The Portugal Adventure – The Long Year

  1. “Curtain of charity”
    I love that!!!!

    And I love the rest of it too.
    You have a wonderful ability, Susan, to let us experience through your eyes. Except past the curtain of charity of course.

    Excellent words, in excellent presentation.

    Like

    1. He was a nice guy. His mother had dated my father before my dad met my mother. She was a lot of fun. But one simply does not marry someone because he has an interesting mother. Thanks for reading and commenting. It was very encouraging.

      Like

Comments are closed.